Tuesday, July 09, 2013

Erik Erikson’s Stages of Development:


Erik Erikson’s Stages of Development:

Stage: School age (6 to 11 years)
Basic conflict: Industry vs. Inferiority
Important events: School
Outcome: Children need to cope with new social and academic demands. Success leads to a sense of competence, while failure results in feelings of inferiority.
Stage: Adolescence (12 to 18 years)
Basic conflict: Identity vs. Role Confusion
Important events: Social relationships

Outcome: Teens need to develop a sense of self and personal identity. Success leads to an ability to stay true to yourself, while failure leads to role confusion and a weak sense of self.

No comments: